Oscars 2013 Live: Winners & Losers Listed In Full

This evening’s Oscar ceremony is now over, and with the dust settling on the biggest awards ceremony of the entire…

Simon Gallagher

Executive Editor

Pinch Of Salt - Argo

This evening’s Oscar ceremony is now over, and with the dust settling on the biggest awards ceremony of the entire year, and the winners and losers celebrating and commiserating together, we’ve put together a full list of the winners (as well as the beaten nominees) for this year’s awards.

Jennifer Lawrence and Jessica Chastain nailed the red carpet, apparently, and Sandra Bullock did wonderful things with a diamond hair-clip, while Bradley Cooper and Chris Pine both proved that beards are very much the hot thing right now. But the big events were yet to happen inside the LA venue, as the audience sat ready to receive host Seth MacFarlane, and his inevitably cutting humour.

For the most part, MacFarlane was reserved, though a few barbs did land before the end of the night. He played his part also in the excellent musical staging throughout the ceremony, whose highlights featured Shirley Bassey, Adele and Barbara Streisand.

It was another typically glitzy affair, and here are the winners and losers in full…


Winner: Life of Pi – Ang Lee

  • Amour – Michael Haneke
  • Lincoln – Steven Spielberg
  • Silver Linings Playbook – David O Russell
  • Beasts of the Southern Wild – Behn Zeitlin


Winner: Argo

  • Beast of the Southern Wild
  • Zero Dark Thirty
  • Amour
  • Life of Pi
  • Les Miserables
  • Lincoln
  • Silver Linings Playbook
  • Django Unchained


Winner: Jennifer Lawrence – Silver Linings Playbook

  • Jessica Chastain – Zero Dark Thirty
  • Emmanuelle Riva – Amour
  • Quvenzhané Wallis – Beasts of the Southern Wild
  • Naomi Watts – The Impossible


Winner: Daniel Day-Lewis – Lincoln

  • Bradley Cooper – Silver Linings Playbook
  • Hugh Jackman – Les Misérables
  • Joaquin Phoenix – The Master
  • Denzel Washington – Flight


Winner: Christoph Waltz – Django Unchained

  • Philip Seymour Hoffman – The Master
  • Robert DeNiro – Silver Linings Playbook
  • Alan Arkin – Argo
  • Tommy Lee Jones – Lincoln


Winner: Anne Hathaway – Les Miserables

  • Sally Field – Lincoln
  • Jacki Weaver – Silver Linings Playbook
  • Helen Hunt – The Sessions
  • Amy Adams – The Master


Winner: Brave

  • Frankenweenie
  • The Pirates! Band of Misfits
  • Wreck it Ralph
  • ParaNorman


Winner: Life of Pi – Claudio Miranda

  • Django Unchained – Robert Richardson
  • Anna Karenina – Seamus McGarvey
  • Lincoln – Janusz Kaminski
  • Skyfall – Roger Deakins


Winner: Anna Karenina – Jacqueline Durran

  • Les Misérables – Paco Delgado
  • Lincoln – Joanna Johnston
  • Mirror Mirror – Eiko Ishioka
  • Snow White and the Huntsman – Colleen Atwood


Winner: Searching for Sugar Man

  • 5 Broken Cameras
  • The Gatekeepers
  • How to Survive a Plague
  • The Invisible War


Winner: Inocente – Sean Fine and Andrea Nix Fine

  • Kings Point – Sari Gilman and Jedd Wider
  • Mondays at Racine – Cynthia Wade and Robin Honan
  • Open Heart – Kief Davidson and Cori Shepherd Stern
  • Redemption – Jon Alpert and Matthew O’Neill


Winner: Argo – William Goldenberg

  • Life of Pi – Tim Squyres
  • Lincoln – Michael Kahn
  • Silver Linings Playbook – Jay Cassidy and Crispin Struthers
  • Zero Dark Thirty – Dylan Tichenor and William Goldenberg


Winner: Amour

  • NO
  • War Witch
  • A Royal Affair
  • Kon Tiki


Winner: Les Misérables – Lisa Westcott and Julie Dartnell

  • Hitchcock – Howard Berger, Peter Montagna and Martin Samuel
  • The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey – Peter Swords King, Rick Findlater and Tami Lane

MUSIC (Original Score)

Winner: Life of Pi – Mychael Danna

  • Anna Karenina – Dario Marianelli
  • Argo – Alexandre Desplat
  • Lincoln – John Williams
  • Skyfall – Thomas Newman

MUSIC (Original Song)

Winner: Skyfall – from Skyfall – Music and Lyric by Adele Adkins and Paul Epworth

  • Before My Time – Chasing Ice, Music and Lyric by J. Ralph
  • Pi’s Lullaby – Life of Pi, Music by Mychael Danna; Lyric by Bombay Jayashri
  • Suddenly – Les Miserable, Music by Claude-Michel Schönberg; Lyric by Herbert Kretzmer and Alain Boublils
  • Everybody Needs a Best Friend – Ted, Music by Walter Murphy; Lyric by Seth MacFarlane

SHORT FILM (Animated)

Winner: Paperman – John Kahrs

  • Adam and Dog – Minkyu Lee
  • Fresh Guacamole – PES
  • Head over Heels – Timothy Reckart and Fodhla Cronin O’Reilly
  • Maggie Simpson in “The Longest Daycare” David Silverman


Winner: Lincoln – Rick Carter (Production Design); Jim Erickson (Set Decoration)

  • Anna Karenina – Sarah Greenwood (Production Design); Katie Spencer (Set Decoration)
  • The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey – Dan Hennah (Production Design); Ra Vincent and Simon Bright (Set Decoration)
  • Les Misérables -Eve Stewart (Production Design); Anna Lynch-Robinson (Set Decoration)
  • Life of Pi – David Gropman (Production Design); Anna Pinnock (Set Decoration)

SHORT FILM (Live Action)

Winner: Curfew -Shawn Christensen

  • Asad Bryan Buckley and Mino Jarjoura
  • Buzkashi Boys – Sam French and Ariel Nasr
  • Death of a Shadow (Dood van een Schaduw) – Tom Van Avermaet and Ellen De Waele
  • Henry – Yan England


Winner: TIED Skyfall – Per Hallberg and Karen Baker Landers & Zero Dark Thirty -Paul N.J. Ottosson

  • Argo – Erik Aadahl and Ethan Van der Ryn
  • Django Unchained – Wylie Stateman
  • Life of Pi – Eugene Gearty and Philip Stockton


Winner: Les Misérables – Andy Nelson, Mark Paterson and Simon Hayes

  • Argo – John Reitz, Gregg Rudloff and Jose Antonio Garcia
  • Life of Pi -Ron Bartlett, D.M. Hemphill and Drew Kunin
  • Lincoln – Andy Nelson, Gary Rydstrom and Ronald Judkins
  • Skyfall – Scott Millan, Greg P. Russell and Stuart Wilson


Winner: Life of Pi -Bill Westenhofer, Guillaume Rocheron, Erik-Jan De Boer and Donald R. Elliott

  • The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey – Joe Letteri, Eric Saindon, David Clayton and R. Christopher White
  • Marvel’s The Avengers – Janek Sirrs, Jeff White, Guy Williams and Dan Sudick
  • Prometheus – Richard Stammers, Trevor Wood, Charley Henley and Martin Hill
  • Snow White and the Huntsman – Cedric Nicolas-Troyan, Philip Brennan, Neil Corbould and Michael Dawson

WRITING (Adapted Screenplay)

Winner: Chris Terrio – Argo

  • Lucy Alibar & Benh Zeitlin – Beasts of the Southern Wild
  • Tony Kushner – Lincoln
  • David O’Russell – Silver Linings PLaybook
  • David Magee – Life of Pi

WRITING (Original Screenplay )

Winner: Django Unchained – Quentin Tarantino

  • John Gatins – Flight
  • Mark Boal – Zero Dark Thirty
  • Moonrise Kingdom – Written by Wes Anderson & Roman Coppola
  • Amour – Written by Michael Haneke

Do you agree with all of the winners? Share your thoughts below.