WWE Spoilers - Mae Young Classic Finalists Confirmed

Winner to be decided on September 12.

WWE Mae Young Classic

The final two competitors of the inaugural Mae Young Classic have been confirmed after the conclusion of the tournament's second night at Florida's Full Sail University, the home of NXT (via Lords of Pain).

The event - which saw several shows taped at once - was largely well-received, with several big names including past and present WWE stars spotted at ringside.

Inside the ring, the sixteen competitors were first whittled down to eight in the second round. Abbey Laith, Piper Niven, Mercedes Martinez, Kairi Sane, Toni Storm, Shayna Braszler, Dakota Kai and Candace LaRae all scored victories. Rachel Evers, Serena Deeb, Princesa Sugehit, Bianca Belair, Lacey Evans, Mia Yim, Rhea Ripley and Nicole Savoy were among those eliminated.

The quarter finals saw Martinez go over Laith, Braszler get the better of LaRae, Storm defeat Nivan, and finally Sane score a win over Kai.

In the final four, Braszler and Sane set up a huge final with wins over Martinez and Storm respectively. The pair were reported to have squared off in a "UFC press conference"-like stare-down to close the show.

The match to crown the Mae Young Classic winner will take place on September 12, it was announced at the foot of the show.

In this post: 
WWE Mae Young
Posted On: