Star Wars: How EVERY Jedi Got On The High Council

How the greatest Jedi in the Galaxy received their seat on the Council.


The Jedi High Council was made up of twelve Jedi Masters, the most powerful and respected of the Jedi Order, who maintained order throughout the Jedi Temple and sought peace within the Galaxy.

There have been many Jedi to have a seat on the Council, though very few are actually known to history by name. Some of their stories remain mostly unknown, but with each member one thing is for certain - that they were placed there for a reason, and were respected enough to gain their seat.

In order to be on the Council, one would have to be wise and revered, and to have gained the rank of Master, a tradition that was continued until the introduction of the Council's final member, Anakin Skywalker.

The following list will detail the ways in which each canon member of the Jedi High Council found themselves in such a position of power and respect, from the ancient Grand Master Yoda to those who would grow to turn on their old friends.

Some spoilers for the Star Wars movies and TV shows follow.

In this post: 
Star Wars
Posted On: 

WhatCulture contributor, aspiring author and lover of all things Buffy, zombie, TV and movie. Usually found rambling about how Jack Nicholson is the greatest actor of all time and watching the same six shows on repeat.