Awesome Kong Announced As Next IMPACT Hall Of Fame Inductee

The former Knockouts Champion will enter the IMPACT Hall of Fame at Bound for Glory.

Awesome Kong

Update: As shown at last night's Knockouts Knockdown special, Awesome Kong has now been officially announced as the next inductee into the IMPACT Wrestling Hall of Fame.

Kong will formally enter the Hall of Fame on 23 October at this year's Bound for Glory PPV.

Original story as below:


During this weekend's IMPACT Wrestling tapings, it was announced that Awesome Kong is the latest name to be inducted into the IMPACT Hall of Fame.

As per Fightful, this announcement took place during filming of the company's upcoming Knockouts Knockdown special, which is due to air on 9 October. Kong used this moment to dedicate her induction to Daffney Unger (Shannon Spruill), who sadly passed away earlier this month.


Awesome Kong formally announced her in-ring retirement at NWA EmPowerrr in August, sharing an emotional moment with long-time rival Gail Kim as she officially called time on a career that had spanned 19 years.

For Kong, she was pivotal in making the Knockouts ranks of TNA/IMPACT must-see TV during the end of the 2000s. In particular, her rivalry and matches with the aforementioned Kim made for phenomenal wrestling TV. With Kong as the dominant monster heel and Kim as the uber-babyface, the two made magic together whenever they stepped between the ropes.


In terms of the IMPACT Hall of Fame, Awesome Kong joins past inductees Sting, Kurt Angle, Team 3D, Jeff Jarrett, Earl Hebner, Gail Kim, Abyss and Ken Shamrock.

Across her time with TNA/IMPACT, Kong had two reigns as Knockouts Champion and one run as Knockouts Tag Team Champions alongside Hamada. Away from IMPACT, the powerhouse had a brief run in WWE as Kharma and was more recently seen as part of the Nightmare Collective in the early goings of AEW.

Want to write about Awesome Kong and IMPACT Wrestling Hall of Fame? Get started below...

Create Content and Get Paid


Chatterer of stuff, writer of this, host of that, Wrexham AFC fan.