Brock Lesnar Breaks 20-Year Hulk Hogan Record In WWE

The WWE Champion just made a long-held company record his own, taking it from Hulk Hogan.

Brock Lesnar

Brock Lesnar's WWE Championship victory at Day 1 (1 January) meant that he broke a Hulk Hogan record that had stood for the best part of 20 years.

In pinning Big E to become WWE Champion in a five-way match also featuring Kevin Owens, Seth Rollins, and Bobby Lashley, Brock scored his latest World Title win 19 years, four months, and seven days after first taking WWE's top prize. This is the longest period of time between a wrestler winning their first World Title and their latest in WWE.

Hogan's record sat at 18 years, two months, and 29 days between his first World Heavyweight Championship win on 23 January 1984 and Undisputed World Heavyweight Championship triumph on 21 April 2002.


Brock's first WWE Title reign commenced back on 25 August 2002.

Sitting in third place is Bob Backlund, whose gap sits at 16 years, nine months, and three days.


Lesnar was originally supposed to challenge Universal Champion Roman Reigns at Day 1, though this was changed when Reigns tested positive for COVID-19, forcing him off the show. Instead, Brock was thrust into the WWE Title bout, making it a five-way. Lashley will provide his first challenge at Royal Rumble 2022 (29 January).

We need more writers about Hulk Hogan, Brock Lesnar and WWE News! Get started below...

Create Content and Get Paid


WhatCulture's Senior Wrestling Reporter, Presenter and Editor. Formerly Bleacher Report. Follow him on Twitter @andyhmurray.