WWE Releases UK Championship Tournament Brackets

The stage is set...

Last month, WWE announced the creation of the United Kingdom Championship and the 16 men who would compete to determine the inaugural titleholder. On Monday, the company released the brackets for the tournament, which will air live on the WWE Network on Saturday, January 14 and Sunday, January 15.

The event is the first of its kind - while it's not the first tournament held exclusively on the WWE Network (that would be the Cruiserweight Classic), the region-specific format of the contest has led many to speculate if other, similar championships could be introduced, such as a Mexican or Japanese title. All that is known at this time is that the UK Title will be the centerpiece of a new WWE Network show that will start at an undetermined date.

The brackets are as follows:


The first-round matches are:


Tyler Bate vs. Tucker

Jordan Devlin vs. Danny Burch


Trent Seven vs. HC Dyer

Wolfgang vs. Tyson T-Bone

Mark Andrews vs. Dan Moloney

James Drake vs. Joseph Conners

Pete Dunne vs. Roy Johnson

Saxon Hudley vs. Sam Gradwell

The shows will air at 3:00 ET/8:00 GMT this Saturday and Sunday, and will be hosted by Michael Cole and former Ring of Honor World Champion Nigel McGuinness. A preview for the tournament will air directly after Monday's Raw on the WWE Network.

Want to write about UK Championship? Get started below...

Create Content and Get Paid


Scott Fried is a Slammy Award-winning* writer living and working in New York City. He has been following/writing about professional wrestling for many years and is a graduate of Lance Storm's Storm Wrestling Academy. Follow him on Twitter at *Best Crowd of the Year, 2013