AEW Announces New Continental Classic Tournament

AEW introduces its own version of the iconic G1 Climax.

AEW Continental Classic Tony Khan Bryan Danielson

Another month, another announcement of yet another AEW tournament. The only difference is, this latest tourney will seemingly pull plenty of inspiration from New Japan Pro-Wrestling's iconic G1 Climax.

As seen on last night's AEW Collision, Tony Khan and Bryan Danielson announced the inaugural edition of what will be the AEW Continental Classic Tournament.


The Continental Classic will consist of two groups of six wrestlers, with each grappler competing against the other five names in their group in round-robin fashion. And not just that, but the first person announced for this tournament is indeed the American Dragon.

This latest AEW tournament will commence on the 22 November edition of Dynamite, with the finals taking place at the World's End PPV on 30 December. Judging by the video announcement, the Continental Classic will play out on Dynamite, Rampage, and Collision, and across Chicago, Pittsburgh, Minneapolis, Erie, Montreal, Dallas, Oklahoma, San Antonio, and Orlando - before that World's End show which will emanate from Long Island, New York.


In addition to the Continental Classic news, this same segment was used to confirm Bryan Danielson as competing at next year's AEW All In. Of course, the Blackpool Combat Club man was forced to miss this year's All In due to injury.

Senior Writer
Senior Writer

Chatterer of stuff, writer of this, host of that, Wrexham AFC fan.