Every WWE Championship And The Superstar That Defined It

41. ECW Championship (2008-2010) - Mark Henry

Roman Reigns Triple H WWE Undisputed Title 2023

When it finally looked like there'd been enough talk and it was time for the main event, Mark Henry shone.

Foreshadowing his 'Hall Of Pain' World Title tenure years later, Henry's run with the in-house ECW Championship was - at long last - a bonafide success story for the 'World's Strongest Man'. Jack Swagger, a returning Christian and others would ultimately shine under the relatively dim spotlight, but Henry was the first to truly make the problematic prize matter. It wasn't ECW ECW, but nothing about WWE's rebrand was.

In this post: 
Roman Reigns
Posted On: 

Michael is a writer, editor, podcaster and presenter for WhatCulture Wrestling, and has been with the organisation over 7 years. He primarily produces written, audio and video content on WWE and AEW, but also provides knowledge and insights on all aspects of the wrestling industry thanks to a passion for it dating back almost 35 years. As one third of "The Dadley Boyz" Michael has contributed to the huge rise in popularity of the WhatCulture Wrestling Podcast and its accompanying YouTube channel, earning it top spot in the UK's wrestling podcast charts with well over 60,000,000 total downloads. He has been featured as a wrestling analyst for the Tampa Bay Times, GRAPPL and Sports Guys Talking Wrestling, and has covered milestone events in New York, Dallas, Las Vegas, Philadelphia, London and Cardiff. Michael's background in media stretches beyond wrestling coverage, with a degree in Journalism from the University Of Sunderland (2:1) and a series of published articles in sports, music and culture magazines The Crack, A Love Supreme and Pilot. When not offering his voice up for daily wrestling podcasts, he can be found losing it singing far too loud watching his favourite bands play live. Follow him on X/Twitter - @MichaelHamflett