New Impact Wrestling World Champion To Be Crowned At Slammiversary 2020

Here's how Impact will determine Tessa Blanchard's successor.

Impact Slammiversary 2020
Impact Wrestling

The vacant Impact Wrestling World Championship will find a new owner at the upcoming Slammiversary 2020 pay-per-view on 18 July, the promotion has announced.

Last night's episode of Impact saw the company confirm that Eddie Edwards, Trey Miguel, Ace Austin, and a mystery wrestler will contest the belt vacated when Tessa Blanchard was released last week, sparking speculation on how the situation would be resolved.

Blanchard was originally set to defend (and presumably drop, given that her contract was expiring) the strap against Edwards, Miguel, Austin, and Michael Elgin. Blanchard and Elgin both leaving Impact left one of Impact's biggest shows of the year without an obvious main event.


Impact has previously teased at least one former World Champion appearing on the show.

Here's how the Slammiversary 2020 lineup currently looks:-


Impact World Title: Eddie Edwards vs. Trey Miguel vs. Ace Austin vs. Mystery Wrestler

Knockouts Title: Jordynne Grace (c) vs. Deonna Purrazzo


Tag Team Titles: The North (c) vs. Ken Shamrock and Sami Callihan

X Division Title: Willie Mack (c) vs. Chris Bey

Knockouts Title Number One Contenders Gauntlet Match: Alisha Edwards vs. Taya Valkyrie vs. Susie vs. Kiera Hogan vs. Havok vs. Kylie Rae vs. Kimber Lee vs. Rosemary vs. Neveah vs. Tasha Steelz

We need more writers about Impact Wrestling and Slammiversary 2020! Get started below...

Create Content and Get Paid


WhatCulture's big bad wrestling news baron. A fan since 1992, still geeking out for everything from WeeLC to mid '80s Jim Crockett Promotions. Give him a follow @andyhmurray. You'll have a great time. Maybe.