England Squad: Hodgson Announces Qualifying Squad

England manager Roy Hodgson has announced his 24-man squad for the upcoming World Cup qualifier.

England manager Roy Hodgson has announced his 24-man squad for the upcoming World Cup qualifiers, which includes the selection of Manchester United midfielder Michael Carrick and Sunderland winger Adam Johnson. Carrick is set to make his second appearance since his return to the England setup after Euro 2012 and Johnson hopes to rediscover some old form after falling out of favour at Manchester City. There is also a space in the team for Chelsea captain John Terry, who missed the blues' last league game with a neck injury. Stamford Bridge youngsters Daniel Sturridge and Ryan Bertrand, who played against Italy in the International friendly earlier this month, have also made the squad. The ever-present Ashley Cole is on the roster as well and could win his 99th and 100th caps for the Three Lions. Goalkeepers John Ruddy and Jack Butland will act as understudies to Joe Hart, meaning that Rob Green loses his place in the squad. Green's Premier League career also faces the possibility of stalling after QPR announced the signing of Julio Cesar in the week. The only real surprise is that Manchester United winger Ashley Young has been left out entirely, despite playing in Euro 2012 and against Italy earlier this month (August). Jack Rodwell, who recently made his first appearance for new club Manchester City, has been called up to the Under-21 squad instead of the senior side. Hodgson's England face Moldova on 7 September and then Ukraine four days later on 11 September. Goalkeepers: Joe Hart (Man City), John Ruddy (Norwich City), Jack Butland (Birmingham City). Defenders: Glen Johnson (Liverpool), Phil Jagielka (Everton), Joleon Lescott (Man City), Ashley Cole (Chelsea), Kyle Walker (Tottenham Hotspur), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), John Terry (Chelsea), Leighton Baines (Everton), Ryan Bertrand (Chelsea). Midfielders: Steven Gerrard (Liverpool), Michael Carrick (Man Utd), Tom Cleverley (Man Utd), Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain (Arsenal), Adam Johnson (Sunderland), Frank Lampard (Chelsea), Theo Walcott (Arsenal), James Milner (Man City). Forwards: Jermain Defoe (Tottenham Hotspur), Andy Carroll (West Ham), Danny Welbeck (Man Utd), Daniel Sturridge (Chelsea).
We need more writers about England and Roy Hodgson! Get started below...

Create Content and Get Paid


Football Writer. Stratford AFC Goalkeeper. Writing articles, interviews, analysis, reviews and anything else that comes up.