Le Mans: Audi Run Four Rings Around The Competition

Audi Audi Sport Team Joest have swept the podium in the last warm up session before the legendary Le Mans 24Hours as the German team dominated the World Endurance Championship Six Hours of Spa in Belgium. Won by the all conquering trio of Marcel Fässler, Benoit Tréluyer and André Lotterer, the number one car was more than one minute ahead of Tom Kristensen, Loïc Duval and Allan McNish. Nearest rivals Toyota had to settle for fourth place as their sister car retired due to over heating rear brakes. Privateer team Rebellion Racing finished strongly in fifth and sixth as they continued their charge in the LMP1 Privateer's trophy as nearest rivals Strakka had an unremarkable race finishing seventh. In the cost capped LMP2 category Pecom Racing took top honours in their Oreca-Nissan as fellow Nissan powered teams Oak Racing and Jota Sport finished second and third respectively. The LMP2 race also saw the first class win for a Michelin shod car in the WEC. The biggest dramas came in LMGTE-Pro as AF Corse Ferrari took the win ahead of the Number 98 Aston Martin Vantage and the second Pro class AF Corse 458. The Aston looked close to winning until both the leading number 98 and 97 cars were given stop and go penalties for "ignoring safety car procedure". The brand new factory run Porsche AG Team Manthey 911s finished fifth and seventh sandwiched between the third Aston Martin of Paul Dalla Lana, Pedro Lamy and Richie Stanaway. The next round of the WEC is the 90th running of the Le Mans 24 Hours on June 22/23. Audi will be hoping to take a 12th win at La Sarthe and Spa's second place man Tom Kristensen will be hoping to be extending his winning record by taking a ninth victory.
Want to write about Le Mans and Motor Sport? Get started below...

Create Content and Get Paid


Teesside University Student, Licensed Pilot and a motorsport fanatic. If it has wheels or wings then chances are I quite the look of it. Fan of the Indy 500, Daytona 24 hours, Le Mans 24 hours and the British Touring Car Championship.