5 Greatest Ever Title-Winning Premier League Sides

5. Manchester United - 2006-2009

By the time the 2006/07 season rolled around, United had gone three seasons without a Premier League trophy, which by their standards was fairly disastrous. Arsenal had dominated initially, in 2003/04, then Jose Mourinho's Chelsea side had come along and taken the league by storm for two years. There were some who felt Ferguson's period of dominance was officially over, but the legendary Scot had other ideas. Although Michael Carrick was the only summer signing in 2006, United had world-class young stars Cristiano Ronaldo and Wayne Rooney, club legends Ryan Giggs and Paul Scholes and a wonderful centre-back duo in Rio Ferdinand and Nemanja Vidic in their ranks. They were a truly formidable side. It was a two-way fight for the title all season with Chelsea, but it was Ferguson's men who got over the finish line. Vital wins at Fulham, Liverpool and City towards the end of the campaign were particularly memorable. United then preceded to win the title in 2007/08 and 2008/09, winning three in a row for the second time in Premier League history. Ronaldo was sensational during this three-year period, winning the PFA Player of the Year award twice and the FIFA World Player of the Year award in 2008. They just edged Chelsea in 07/08, following a win at Wigan on the final day, while a year later they fought off a brave challenge from Rafa Benitez's Liverpool to seal yet another crown. It was a fantastic period in the club's history, and it silenced the many doubters who felt they wouldn't dominate English football like they had done previously. Pivotal Moment: John O'Shea's late winner at Anfield in March 2007Best XI: Van der Sar; O'Shea, Ferdinand, Vidic, Evra; Carrick, Scholes, Fletcher, Giggs, Ronaldo; Rooney Star Man: Cristiano Ronaldo

Football writer, Liverpool fanatic. That's pretty much all you need to know. Love Film and Music too.